WhatsApp can now let you send photos and videos that can only be viewed once by recipients. iPhone users are the first beneficiaries of the new feature and they will be able to access it through a new WhatsApp version on Tuesday. Shortly after the first announcement, Whatsapp announced its rollout for all users, which will now include android users. The instant messaging app has been testing the ‘View Once’ feature for some time to essentially enables photos and videos to disappear from the chat after they are viewed by the recipient. You should however note that it doesn’t restrict users from keeping a record of the media content which they can do by taking screenshots.
With the ‘View Once’ feature, you will now be able to enable the disappearing of the photo or video before sending it to your contacts which you can do by tapping the new ‘1′ icon which you will see next to the caption bar.
With the new feature, the photos and videos that are being shared using the ‘View Once’ feature will no longer be visible in the chat where they were sent to once the recipient has exited the media viewer. Not just that, the media content will also not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery, and they can’t forward them through the app as well. Another thing to know is that the photo or video which was sent using the feature will also expire from the chat if it’s not opened within 14 days.
Users should however note that recipients can still take a screenshot of the ‘View Once’ photos or capture these videos by using the default screen recording feature. This is why WhatsApp recommends that users are to only send photos and videos using the new feature to people they trust.
WhatsApp has been testing the feature since at least September 2020 to let users make their photos and videos disappear from the app once it is viewed by the recipients. It also entered the beta testing phase for both Android and iOS devices in late June. The Facebook-owned app was also brought to WhatsApp Web for some users last month.